Mindful Thoughts For Walkers

Mindfulness is a huge topic going into 2018. Perhaps you don’t really know what mindfulness is or you don’t know how to practice it? Well, this is your book!

The Mindful Thoughts for Walkers: Footnotes on the zen path book by Adam Ford is a very easy to read, succinct book, focusing on meditations whilst walking and exploring nature. Walking is a great way to clear your mind and step out of the usual hustle and bustle daily routine you may have and this is a beautifully worded book. I particularly like the fact that it takes a different approach to walking, which many people see as a chore.

With it being pocket sized and hardback it’s very easy to transport with you in your coat pocket or rucksack as a companion on your walks. Maybe you’re now thinking ‘I’m no hiker’, well you may not be but even if you take a daily stroll to your local shop, you can still practice mindful thoughts! I also love the artwork in this book. It is perfectly suited for the nature/outdoors theme but also visually appealing and ‘mindful’ in it’s illustration.

Each chapter is short and well-written with plenty of tips in each one. I love that there is a big focus on emptying your mind, focusing on your breathing and simply bringing your mind back to basics and connecting with nature and your surroundings. Quite often when you are walking you are still thinking about work, family and life in general. After reading this book however, you will learn to think about the present. Even the smallest things such as putting one foot in front of the other and taking a step as well as increasing your awareness of your surroundings.

If mindfulness is something that appeals to you, you could also check out the Mindful Thoughts for Cyclists which is also in the same range. I’m really excited to read this one too as I do love cycling and clearing my mind. Watch this space for a review of this book too!

Do you have any mindfulness books you like to read?  How do you practice mindfulness?

*This posts contains affiliate links. This means that if you use these links to buy products, I will get a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Follow:

30 Comments

  1. Jan 10, 2018 / 9:18 pm

    I do enjoy walking, I find it helps clear my mind and enables me to relax. Normally, I put my headphones in and listen to music. Other times I walk and just take in the scenery, it’s very therapeutic 😍. Great review Rebecca and I like the book colours & design. It’s the sort of thing that would catch my eye in a bookshop and I would have a look through 💖 xx

    Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 11, 2018 / 1:09 pm

      Walking is so lovely, and I love exploring! There’s lots of mindfulness books out there, I just like the theme with this one and the fact it’s easy to read and small too! Nothing worse than a 500 page book without any colour of pictures! Thanks for reading Bexa xx

  2. Stephanie Geary
    Jan 11, 2018 / 8:32 am

    Fab post 🙂
    Definately like to go for a walk, it helps clear my head but being a driver I probably don’t go out without my car as often as I should. I love putting my earphones in and having a stroll, I am going to dedicate more time to doing it more often.

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 11, 2018 / 1:09 pm

      You definitely should, walking clears the mind. I like going for walks at the weekend as I spend most of the week driving to work etc! xx

  3. Jan 11, 2018 / 1:32 pm

    This looks like an interesting book, Rebecca. I must confess I don’t walk that much as we need the car for the school run and then I’m sitting at my desk a lot of the time. But I do find getting out in my garden is very calming and head clearing, and I love being out in the fresh air, even in this chilly weather! x

    Lisa | http://www.lisasnotebook.com

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 11, 2018 / 8:22 pm

      I’m the same, I use my car everyday for work but I do like to try and walk at a different place over the weekend and get some fresh air! xx.

  4. Jan 11, 2018 / 2:25 pm

    Practicing mindfulness is one of my goals for this year! I love to walk. I think this book sounds really helpful, I think I’ll give it a read!

  5. Jan 11, 2018 / 3:59 pm

    I feel zen just thinking about this! Lol I enjoy books like these that open your mind and helps you clear your thoughts. I think this would be great for anxiety. Nice find Rebecca! ☺️

    xx Lena | https://lenadeexo.com

  6. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:07 pm

    I love walking so much! It clears my mind and allows me to recharge. I practice mindfulness but disconnecting from the social media sphere for an hour or two a day and do something that I genuinely enjoy doing.

    el @ https://exclusory.wordpress.com

  7. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:12 pm

    As I live so close to my university, I usually walk in every day rather than taking the car, so I have plenty of opportunities to engage in mindfulness! I will have to pick up a copy of this book because it sounds like a wonderful way of embracing your day to an even greater degree!

    Abbey x

  8. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:27 pm

    This sounds so interesting. I do find my mind wanders a lot when I’m walking my dog so I’d probably find this really useful. Great post, I didn’t know something like this existed x

    Sophie
    http://www.glowsteady.co.uk

  9. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:31 pm

    I bought cyclist’s version for my uncle for Christmas! They make really good gifts! I hadn’t realised there was a walking one – that’s much more up my street! It’s so handy that they’re pocket sized so you can take them out and about with you. Great review! xx

  10. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:32 pm

    This sounds like such a lovely little book, I’ll definitely have to keep my eye out for this as it sounds so interesting! This was a great post, I definitely need to be more mindful when I’m walking as I’m usually thinking about everything else that I could be doing! X

  11. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:42 pm

    I just switched my commute so I’m walking more (suits me better than underground in the subway!) so learning about this book is perfect timing! Thank you!

  12. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:44 pm

    I love going on walks to clear my mind and just take some time out to think! Might need to pick this up actually! Nothing better than a walk to the park and around the lake when you’ve been stuck inside all day!

  13. Jan 11, 2018 / 5:47 pm

    Hi, I think I may have to get this Greta that its the right size to take easily with you. I also love to go for a walk in the fresh air to clear my head.

  14. Jan 11, 2018 / 6:49 pm

    I love this post, this book sounds so interesting. I love walking, but you’re right, I tend to think about friends and family, or past events rather than focusing on the present. Walking is such a great way to clear my head as well!
    Hels xx
    http://www.thehelsproject.com

  15. Jan 11, 2018 / 8:34 pm

    This post is SO right up my street. This is literally what I do on a daily basis. I don’t meditate, I walk and that’s my meditation. I apply all the things I imagine this book says and I’m so glad you reviewed this because, although it’s something that I do already, I’d love to read it.

    I think I’m actually going to buy it and will probably feature it on my blog too if I like, with your review too.

    Thanks for another amazing review!

    Sil x

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 14, 2018 / 5:11 pm

      Awh I’m really glad you enjoyed it! Such a lovely comment thank you. Look forward to reading your review of it – let me know when it’s up and I’ll take a read xx.

  16. Jan 12, 2018 / 6:48 am

    ive always enjoying walking, theres something about being out in the fresh air that always calms me down and just makes me feel good.

    katie. xx lacoconoire.com

  17. Jan 14, 2018 / 3:37 pm

    The concept of this book is so unique and appealing! I definitely am adding it to my booklist, it seems very insightful and useful for a self-care day where you just want to spend time with yourself! Great post.

    Ashiana : ashianashome.wordpress.com

  18. Jan 14, 2018 / 6:05 pm

    This book sounds really good. I’ve always been a walker, though I’m very guilty of zoning out completely when I walk. Mindfulness is something I want to practise more of anyway, so combining the two would be perfect! Plus I cycle to and from work, so the cycling version would also be really useful. Thank you for bringing our attention to such a useful book 🙂

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 16, 2018 / 12:15 pm

      Ahh that’s great to hear! Mindfulness is so up and coming so it’s definitely good to start practicing more of it I think! xx

  19. Jan 17, 2018 / 5:31 am

    Walking is wonderful for both my body and my mind. I have started listening to podcasts while I walk at a faster pace but I really like the idea of taking a slower, more mindful and meditative walk. Thanks for the great book suggestion Rebecca!

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 18, 2018 / 11:45 am

      I love podcasts too! I’m trying to find some more that I can add to my list. Happy mindfulness 🙂 xx

  20. Jan 17, 2018 / 1:27 pm

    Not a walker but when I do my mind tends to wander, I can see how this can be helpful. Especially with how fast paced my life is.

    • Rebecca
      Author
      Jan 30, 2018 / 4:31 pm

      Thanks for reading! Totally agree, it’s really up and coming too! xx.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *